Assassin's Apprentice

Robin Hobb

About this book

The kingdom of the Six Duchies is on the brink of civil war when news breaks that the crown prince has fathered a bastard son and is shamed into abdication. The child’s name is Fitz, and his is despised.

Raised in the castle stables, only the company of the king’s fool, the ragged children of the lower city and his unusual affinity with animals provide Fitz with any comfort.

To be useful to the crown, Fitz is trained as an assassin; and to use the traditional magic of the Farseer family. But his tutor, allied to another political faction, is determined to discredit, even kill him. Fitz must survive: for he may be destined to save the kingdom.

What we think of this book & ideas for gifting

A wonderful combination of historical fiction with a touch of magic. We are plunged into the dark side of life at the Royal Court through the story of Fitz, illegitimate child to the King-in-Waiting. As neither a true Royal nor just a commoner, he is trained in the dark arts to lead a life of adventure, deception, and loyalty to the true King. The first in the Farseer trilogy, this one will get new readers hooked and keen to try the next books too, and is perfect for fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones series and The Lord of the Rings.