The Spanish Promise

Karen Swan

Fiction · Great for: Anyone looking for an escape to sunny Spain

About this book

Find your local library.

Buy this book from hive.co.uk to support The Reading Agency and local bookshops at no additional cost to you.

The Spanish Promise is a sizzling summer novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore. One of Spain’s richest men is dying. But as he prepares his estate, his family is shocked to discover he is making plans to give away his wealth to a young woman they have never even heard of.

Who is she and what hold does she have over him? Charlotte Fairfax is asked to travel to the troubled family’s home in Spain to get to the bottom of the mysterious bequest.

It’s the week before her wedding but she is confident she has time – there’s only one reason an older man leaves his money to a beautiful woman, isn’t there?

But in Madrid, things don’t go to plan when the woman denies knowing anything about the gift.

Is she lying? Looking for clues, Charlotte digs into the prominent family’s history and unearths a dark and shocking past in which two people were torn apart by conflict.

But now, their long-buried secrets are starting to reach into the present and Charlotte starts to wonder whether love does not need to forgive or forget in order to endure – but just needs two hearts to keep beating.

What we think of this book & ideas for gifting

An uplifting read that will whisk you away to Spain and the drama of a wealthy family and their secrets. Alternating through a series of flashbacks to the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s and the present day, and filled with intrigue, mystery and romance, this is the perfect escape.